Question #1 The Caitlin Corporation sells only one product. The following is budgeted information for that product:
Annual production and sales capacity (units) 30,000
Budgeted selling price $30 per unit
Variable cost of goods sold $8 per unit
Fixed manufacturing costs $50,000
Variable selling and administrative costs $4 per unit
Fixed selling and administrative costs $40,000
Caitlin’s corporate tax rate is 40%.
a) How many units does Caitlin need to sell to breakeven?
b) How much revenue does Caitlin need to generate to breakeven?
c) How many units does Caitlin need to sell to earn an operating profit (before taxes) of $135,000?
d) How much revenue does Caitlin need to generate to earn net income (after taxes) of $140,400?
e) Assume Caitlin is currently producing and selling 20,000 units. By what percentage will operating income change if sales increase by 15% from 20,000 units? Be sure to provide figures to justify your answer.
f) Assume Caitlin is currently producing and selling 20,000 units. By what percentage will operating income change if sales decrease by 10% from 20,000 units? Be sure to provide figures to justify your answer.
A production company is planning to sell tickets to a show for $25 each. It budgets variable costs to be $5 per attendee. Total fixed costs are estimated to be $100,000. The theatre can accommodate up to 4,000 people because of safety concerns. What should the production company do? Why? Be specific in your response.
The following is budgeted information for the Samantha Corporation:
Annual production & sales
Projected selling price
Direct Production Cost Information
Materials (per unit)
Direct Labor (per unit)
Selling & administrative costs (a mixed cost) are budgeted to be $960,000 at the production and sales listed above. The variable component is $3 per unit (same for each product).
Manufacturing overhead costs (a mixed cost) are budgeted to be $550,000 at the production and sales listed above. The fixed component is $150,000. Each product uses the same amount of variable manufacturing overhead per unit.
Assuming the budgeted sales mix remains intact, how many units of each product does Samantha need to sell in order to break even?
Delivering a high-quality product at a reasonable price is not enough anymore.
That’s why we have developed 5 beneficial guarantees that will make your experience with our service enjoyable, easy, and safe.
You have to be 100% sure of the quality of your product to give a money-back guarantee. This describes us perfectly. Make sure that this guarantee is totally transparent.Read more
Each paper is composed from scratch, according to your instructions. It is then checked by our plagiarism-detection software. There is no gap where plagiarism could squeeze in.Read more
Thanks to our free revisions, there is no way for you to be unsatisfied. We will work on your paper until you are completely happy with the result.Read more
Your email is safe, as we store it according to international data protection rules. Your bank details are secure, as we use only reliable payment systems.Read more
By sending us your money, you buy the service we provide. Check out our terms and conditions if you prefer business talks to be laid out in official language.Read more